THEY DIED FOR GLORY

Errata and Clarifications

Q: The Table of Contents states that the French move during Phase 11. Yet Section 1.2 says
that Infantry can move twice. When can the French infantry do its second move?

A: The Sequence of Play Table (p 11 of THEY DIED FOR GLORY) tells players when units
can perform certain operations, not how many times they can perform a particular operation. If a
French infantry unit wishes to move twice, it would perform both operations during Phase 11.

Q: Does a unit have to move it's maximum movement allowance?
A: No, the unit can move its full movement or any portion of it.

Q: If a unit declares a charge against an enemy unit that is on Fallback, must the charging unit
still test morale (as per Section 4.3)?

A Yes.

QQ: Why do mfantry go prone when they receive four or more casualties from small arms fire in
a turn, but not from artillery fire?

A: Small arms fire travels in a relatively straight line, hence the desire to duck under it, or go
prone. However, it is impossible to duck under artillery fire since it travels in a hyperbolic arc.
Therefore, infantry does not go prone when it receives casualtics from artillery fire; their natural
inclination is to move away from the target area.

Q: If a unit routs why can't it start to rally immediately, instead of waiting until next turn?

A: The 12" Fallback move actually takes the entire tum. Therefore, the unit cannot begin
rallying until the next tum.

Q: Assume that a unit fails its morale and falls back 12", If another umt falls back within 4"
later in the same turn, does the first unit have to test morale again?

A: No. The first unit is actually falling back 12" during the entire turn. Players move the unit
back 12" all at once as a convenience, rather than having to prorate the unit's fall back move during the
course of the turn. Since the unit is on Fallback status during the entire turn, it does not have to test its
morale again during the turn since there it would not be possible to pass a morale test (ie. the unit is
already falling back). However, while the unit is rallying on the next turn, it is subject to another
morale check and possible Fallback.

There is one exception to the rule that a unit cannot Fallback more than once in a turn. Section
6.11 states that a unit on Fallback automatically fails its morale test if charged. Therefore, even if a
unit has already fallen back 12" that turn, it must automatically Fallback another 12" if charged on that
turn. The unit can start its rally on the next turn.



FORMATIONS

Deep Column: The fourth sentence should read: "It's semi-dense formation makes it a slightly more
difficult target to hit than a column or a line."

1. MOVEMENT
1.5 Change of Face/Formation

Infantry units in Woods can change formation into skirmish order. However, skirmish infantry
cannot change formation into a massed formation while in the Woods.

1.10 Skirmish Infantry

Infantry units that cannot skirmish or move as a Deep Column (e.g. French Sailors) exit a house
or building in a disorganized column. They move as a column but melee as skirmishers. A Change of
Formation is required to change their formation to either a Column or a Line.

Engineers and Pioneers operating on a company basis move as skirmish infantry but melee as
formed troops (see Section 5.4). If operating as a battalion they move as Line infantry.

1.16 Voluntary Fallbacks

Units that fail morale and Fallback during a turn cannot take a Voluntary Fallback at the end of
the turn.

1.18 Terrain and Movement Penalties
Hills: Artillery handpushing uphill moves only 1/2".

Woods: Infantry units in Woods can change formation into skirmish order. However, skirmish
infantry cannot change formation into a massed formation while in the Woods.

Obstacles: When an infantry unit crosses a wall or an obstacle it can prorate its movement
while approaching the wall or obstacle. For example, an infantry column 3" away from a wall can
move at full speed until it reaches the wall at a cost of 3". It has 1 1/2" remaining and is half speed for
the entire time that it spends crossing the wall or obstacle. If it cannot complete its crossing in one
operation then it moves at half speed until the last stand has finished crossing the wall or obstacle.
Once the entire unit clears the wall it can move at full speed again (e.g. it can prorate its movement
after it clears the wall).

2. INFANTRY FIRE
2.1 Firing Procedure
If the center of a formed infantry unit can fire at an enemy unit then the entire unit (including

the second rank) can fire, regardless of distance, Line of Sight, or angle of fire . Firing eligibility for
skirmish infantry is determined for each stand individually, measuring from the center of cach stand.
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2.9 Forcing Enemy to go Prone

Infantry units in a house or behind an obstacle do not have to go prone if they receive four or
more casualties in a turn from small arms fire.

2.11 Firing Into Melee.

The section number should be "2.11", not "2.1."

2.13 Obstacles and Buildings
All figures in a house can fire out in the same direction (e.g. from the same side of the house).

In order to claim the protective benefits of an obstacle, a unit must be within 1/2" of the
obstacle.

2.14 Woods

Infantry more than 1/2" away from edge of Woods can fire a maximum of 4" out of the Woods.
They must be at edge of Woods (i.e. within 1/2") to fire their full range. Artillery can fire at infantry
which fire out of the Woods (using the "Woods" column during the next artillery phase) if the infantry
are more than 1/2" from the edge of the Woods.
2.15 Infantry Fire Table

Note: When firing small arms at limbered artillery, use the "Cavalry Line" column for determining
hits.

2.16 Infantry Fire Modifiers
In the first example, the French unit rolls 6 dice, not 5.
2.17 Line of Sight and Overhead Fire
Prone infantry behind walls cannot fire, they must first stand up.
3. ARTILLERY
3.1A Selection of Target
Artillery cannot fire at units that are locked in melee.

3.2 Artillery Hand pushes



If artillery does not fire at the beginning of a tumn it can take its handpush during the movement
portion of the turn.

3.6 Line of Sight and Overhead Fire

Walls and rubble do not block Line of Sight (LOS). If a unit enters a Woods then LOS is
broken and artillery cannot fire at the unit until the artillery is within 4" of the Woods or the unit fires
out of the Woods.
3.9 Obstacles and Buildings

In order to claim the protective benefits of an obstacle, a unit must be within 1/2" of the
obstacle.

If artillery fires through a gap between friendly units, the gap must be at equal to or greater than
width of artillery stand.

Unlimbered artillery behind obstacles are twice as difficult to hit. Roll HALF the number of
dice during the pre-roll to see how many are on target.

3.10 Destruction of Obstacles and Buildings
Guns of 10 Ib caliber and above count as two hits on an Obstacle.
3.11 Engineers and Pioneers
An Engineer/Pioneer company can only reman one Battery even if two Batteries are adjacent to
cach other. Remanning a battery requires an Operation. The Engineer/Pioneer company must be
within 4" of a battery in order to reman it. Once they have remanned the battery they can fire the gun
on the next turn. The Engineer/Pioneer company must remain with the battery for the rest of the game.
See section 6.10, below, for the effect on artillerymen of failing a morale test.
4. CHARGE
4.3 Morale Checks

If a unit tries to Charge and fails its morale test it does not Fallback. Instead, it holds its
position for that turn. However, the unit can fire.

4.5 Countercharges
A unit can countercharge in support of a friendly unit that is being charged.

4.11 Cavalry



Cavalry can charge infantry in the Woods if the infantry is at the edge of the Woods (ie. within
1/2" of the edge of the Woods). Cavalry cannot enter the Woods if it wins the melee. Victorious
Cavalry can perform a Change of Face/Formation at the end of the melee in lieu of being able to enter
the Woods and occupy the defender's position.

The defending infantry will receive a melee modifier (see Section 5.4, below).

4.12 Skirmish Charges

Units in skirmish formation cannot frontally charge massed units. However, they can charge
massed units in the flank or the rear. They can also charge other skirmish units and artillery.

Artillery can never charge.
5. MELEE
5.2 Resolving Melees

Example: A 20 man Prussian battalion rounds up to 21 men when determining the number of
melee dice. Therefore, the battalion would roll 14 dice.

5.6 Multi-Unit Combats

After the units on a side have rolled their respective melee dice, add up the total casualties on
each side to determine the victor. A unit may out roll its individual opponent but still have to retreat if
its side received more casualties overall.
5.10 Breakthrough Movement

Example: Prussian and French infantry melee (with the French defending a fortified position)
and the melee ends in draw. The French go below 50%, test morale and rout. The Prussians can
advance into the French defensive position since they won the melee (i.e. they caused the French to
retreat).
5.11 Retreating Units

A unit falling back from a melee must rally just as if it failed a morale test.

3.12 Surrender

If an artillery battery loses a melee the gun and any surviving artillerymen are considered
automatically captured. Batteries cannot retreat afier losing a melee.

5.13 Charging Infantry in Houses

If part of an infantry battalion is in a house and the remainder of the battalion is outside the
house, the entire unit takes part in the melee.



Example #1: A Prussian Battalion of 20 men is partially in a house, with 10 men in the house
and 10 men outside the house. If the house is charged by two French Battalions, all 20 Prussians roll
against the French. The French must subtract one from each die roll since they are charging the house.

Example #2: Assume the same scenario as above, except that one French Battalion charges the
house and the second Battalion charges the Prussians that are outside the house. The first Battalion
must subtract one from each die roll since it is charging the house but the second Battalion docs not
since they are charging the part of the Prussian Battalion that is outside the house.

6. MORALE
6.8 Prone Infantry

The first sentence in Section 6.8 should read "Infantry adds 1 to its Morale Rating when prone™.

Prone infantry standing up to face an enemy charge does not receive the +1 modifier (for being
prone) when testing morale (see Section 6.4).

6.10 Failing Morale Test

If a unit cannot Fallback, either because it is surrounded by enemy units (see section 5.12) or
because of impassable terrain, then the unit surrenders or is considered destroyed.

If a limbered artillery battery fails a moral test the artillerymen Fallback with their gun.

However, if an unlimbered artillery battery fails a morale test, the artillerymen rout back 12"
(as skirmishers) and leave their gun behind. The artillerymen can be used to reman other guns after
they have rallied.

An abandoned gun can be remanned by an Engineer/Pioneer company. If contacted by an
enemy unit before being remanned the gun is considered captured. It can then be remanned by the
enemy's Engineers or Pioneers.

6.11 Rallying

After a unit rallies it may start its move in any formation/facing it chooses (this is essentially a
free Change of Face/IF'ormation and does not count as an operation).

6.12 Converging Units

Line and Light infantry converging into a new battalion have the morale and capabilities of a
Line battalion. Light and Heavy cavalry cannot converge into a new regiment.

Routed units which are waiting (at the bascline of the table) to converge are automatically
dispersed if attacked. The attacking unit takes no casualties and its movement is not atfected.



Units with an original Morale Rating of 4 have a Morale Rating of 3 after converging. If units
with different Morale Ratings converge, and one of them had an original Morale Rating of 4, then the
new unit has a Morale Rating of 3.



OPTIONAL RULES
MOVEMENT
Simultaneous Movement: The attached Simultaneous Movement Chart was accidentally

omitted from THEY DIED FOR GLORY. A copy may be downloaded from the TDFG Y ahoo-
Group at

https:figroups.yahoo.comineol/groupsitheydiedforgloryffiles/F PVW%208imultaneous%20Move%20Chart.jpeg.

Players must write down their orders for their units at the beginning of the turn for both phases of that
turn.

Units cannot Change Face (except skirmishers) or Change Formation if a charging enemy unit
18 within 3" at the beginning of the turn.

Substituted Orders: If a unit has a written orders to charge an enemy unit (using the
Simultaneous Movement rules) and the enemy unit disappears before the Movement phase (e.g. it is
destroyed by artillery fire, or fails morale test when charged) the charging unit must complete its
regular move, since a Charge is defined as a move that contacts the enemy (see Section 4.1). The
charging unit can, of course, charge another enemy unit that is within range

INFANTRY FIRE

Conditional Fire Orders: A unit ordered to "Hold" can substitute an order to Fire.
ARTILLERY FIRE

Artillery Handpushes: Unlimbered artillery can handpush through skirmish infantry
immediately prior to firing. Artillery can only take one handpush per turn. The handpush can be taken
immediately before firing or during the movement portion of the turn.

Canister Fire: Any artillery battery that does not fire during the Artillery portion of the turn
can fire canister during the Infantry Fire portion of the turn. It can take up to a 1" handpush

immediately prior to firing. Artillery can only fire canister once per turm.

Point Blank Range Canister Fire: If an enemy unit is within 1" of an artillery battery that is
firing canister, the battery adds +2 to all die rolls.

MELEE
Melee Modifiers: Subtract two from each of the unit's die rolls if:
* The unit is skirmish infantry and is meleed by cavalry.

Enfilade Attack: Skirmish infantry cannot claim enfilade bonus. There is no enfilade bonus
against units defending behind obstacles.

MORALE



French Republican Units: French Sailors cannot skirmish or use the Deep Column formation.

Prussian Landwehr: Prussian Landwehr infantry are organized into regiments of three
battalions; each battalion is represented by four 4-man stands. They fire on the German Infantry Fire
Table with a -1 modifier. Their Morale Rating is "4" and they are -1 on Morale when attempting to
charge. They can charge in Deep Column or Column formation but do not receive a +1 modifier when
charging.

Landwehr Cavalry (Dragoons, Hussars, and Uhlans) are organized and treated as Prussian
Cavalry in all respects, except that their Morale Rating is "4".

COMMAND RULES

The following system of mounting figures is suggested for distinguishing between commanders
of a Brigade, Division, or Corps:

Brigade Commander: 1 figure (mounted or dismounted).

Division Commander: 2 figures (2 mounted or 1 mounted and 1
dismounted).

Corps Commander: 3 figures (3 mounted or 2 mounted and 1
dismounted).



Stand Sizes for Command Figures:

Stand frontage Stand

per figure Depth
Infantry 12" 12"
Cavalry 12" 1"

Note: Use Cavalry measurements for stands containing both cavalry and infantry figures. A
Division command stand (i.e. two figures) can be placed on a standard cavalry base (1.5" x 1").

ALTERNATE ORGANIZATION FOR FRENCH IMPERIAL UNITS

As an alternative to organizing the French infantry as four 3-man stands, the French Line
Infantry, Turcos and Guard battalions can be organized as six 2-man stands to reflect their historical
$ix company organization.

SCENARIOS

Scenario 4: The stream starts off the table and runs through squares E-1, 2, 3, and 4 exits off
the Table at E-4.

Rules Questions: write to Robert Burke, 1919 Mount Conness Way, Antioch, CA 94531,
USA. Please enclose a SASE.

revised: 7/29/06

Published by Military Miniatures Magazine www.miniatures.de with kind
permission from Robert Burke, and David Waxtel of Quantum Printing.
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